Prior to 1983 there were several single interest groups. One of these successfully protested the opening of Bellamy Street through to Quarter Sessions Road in Westleigh.

Our archives include the Minutes of a Resident’s Meeting held in the Community Centre on Monday January 24th, 1983. A Committee of ten was elected and the group adopted the name of The Pennant Hills Residents’ Group with the following initial concerns:

box7EBEC5 the Hampden Road/ Binomea Place development proposal

box7EBEC5 the Pennant Hills Road/ Boundary Road Plans (aka the Bermuda Triangle)

box7EBEC5 the closure of Railway Street by the DMR

box7EBEC5 Urban Consolidation Legislation

box7EBEC5 the link by tunnel under the rail line of Boundary Road , Azalea Grove through to Boundary Road, North Epping.

box7EBEC5 the extension of Orchard Street, Thornleigh to George, Cecil and Britannia Streets, Pennant Hills

1987 onwards

The Residents’ Group changed its name to the Pennant Hills Civic Trust in April 1987 and then to the Pennant Hills District Civic Trust later that same year. The Trust was incorporated in August 1997.

The various Committees since 1987 have contributed in areas such as:

box7EBEC5 the Pennant Hills Centre, the new library building, Wollundry Park, the Hillcrest Road Plaza

box7EBEC5 Helping to establish Neighbour Aid and Lifestart in the old Daycare Centre in Ramsay Rd

box7EBEC5 the Pennant Hills Station redevelopment

box7EBEC5 Observatory Park regeneration

box7EBEC5 serving on Council Steering committees

box7EBEC5 objecting to undesirable developments, big and small – eg McDonalds

box7EBEC5 facilitating C Ward Council candidate meetings

box7EBEC5 Saving local bus services from closure by NSW Transport

box7EBEC5 objecting to inappropriate projects which waste public money for no benefit to residents

box7EBEC5 supporting programs including Cleanup Australia, formation of Community Fire Units

box7EBEC5 supporting print of “In Search of the Pennant Hills”  local history book

box7EBEC5 Protecting the Stringybark Ridge in the Berowra Valley National Park from development

Four Trust Committee members have gone on to represent C Ward on Hornsby Council – Barbara Baker, Robert Browne, Ron Leslie and Owen Nannelli.